The Birth of Ethan Isaiah – My delivery Story (Part 1)!

Yes, you heard it right… on the morning of January 31st, 2014 at 10:18 AM, my beautiful son Ethan Isaiah Shuler was born, weighing a whopping 7 lbs, 10 oz.!

Ethan_1stday!!

I’ve always wondered what my delivery story would be like and now it’s finally here!! This may be a bit lengthy (and includes LOTS of TMI info.) so, all those interested, feel free to bear with me through this post! You have been warned!!! Lol. I promise they’ll be plenty of great pictures also, though! 🙂

As I mentioned in a previous post, I unfortunately developed cholestasis with this pregnancy, therefore, for Ethan’s safety, he was scheduled to be born via c-section on Friday, January 31st, 2014. Although, it would have been ideal to delivery vaginally, Ethan’s health ultimately comes first so I was MORE than okay with this plan! Plus, having a date to work with – provided I didn’t go into labor first (!!) – put this Type A/planner’s mind at ease quite a bit…naturally.

THURSDAY (1/30/14)

On Thursday, the plan was for me to head to my hospital – George Washington University Hospital – and get some pre-bloodwork done for the morning delivery…and then get a manicure and pedicure in the afternoon. I know what you’re thinking… but hey, this could be my last “pampering/me time” for quite a while. Plus, I wanted to look and feel my best at the hospital.

Surprisingly, I was still able to get around pretty well at 37 weeks, so I drove myself to GWU hospital… a trip that normally takes about 30 min. However, due to traffic, it took about an hour this time. Yikes! Houston, we have a problem!! I haven’t had too many embarrassing moments in my entire pregnancy, so I guess today would be the day that made up for it. So, I really, REALLY needed a bathroom break whilst I was on the road, so the extra long commute did not make matters any better. By the time, I made it to the parking lot, I was just about to BURST and then as I headed to the elevator in the basement of the parking lot…the dam broke! …Let’s just say it was almost like having a dramatic water breaking experience… the kind you see in the movies! Thankfully, I had on a dark dress, black tights and boots, so no one could tell that I had in fact “relieved myself” before reaching a bathroom. :-p Yea… Once I made it to the hospital, I was able to clean myself up and successfully get my blood drawn for the morning delivery. Needless to say though, I was more than happy to head home afterwards and shower before my manicure/pedicure appointment.

Another MAJOR challenge of Thursday… I had to fast at midnight until the morning, after delivery. That’s right – no eating or drinking beforehand. For some, this may not be a big deal. However, for someone like myself, whose only craving was cold water and/or ice cold orange juice, this was absolute TORTURE. You can believe that I was drinking plenty of cold fluids right up until 11:30 PM that night. Ha! Fortunately, I slept through most of the night, only having to get up 2 or 3 times for bathroom breaks. Then finally, D-Day (1/31/14) had arrived… The c-section was scheduled for 10:30 AM that morning, but Joel (hubby) and I were told to arrive by 8:30-9 AM…

Stay Tuned for My Delivery Story Part 2

3 thoughts on “The Birth of Ethan Isaiah – My delivery Story (Part 1)!

Leave a Reply

