Friday “Run-spiration” and a Recipe!

First things first – Happy Friday & cheers to the weekend!!! We made it through yet another week, and that, my friends, is something to celebrate!

Sooo, I’m thinking you may be a tad curious about my play on the word “inspiration.” 😉 Welp, I know I may be super duper late in catching up on this, but I’ve been hearing little tidbits about an excellent movie called Spirit of the Marathon in the lovely running/blog world, and that it actually has a Part 2 out now… But yeah, so I have never actually seen the first one soooo thanks to good ole’ Amazon.com, I purchased the dvd and am Super Excited to watch it with the hubby tonight for date night!

SPiritMarathonQuote

Actually, to say I’m EXCITED is quite the understatement! I’m pretty sure watching this will be just the push I need to pursue my first marathon (and hubby’s third ;-)) in the near future!

Yes, this day just can’t go fast enough for me to get some quality time with the hubby and watch a good “run-spiration” movie! Special thanks to Chels also, who commented recently encouraging me to go the distance to train for a marathon. Having done 7 (!!) marathons, she would def. know the joy and reward of going ‘said distance!’ 😉

And now for a top-notch recipe… well, my “healthy-alternative” version of it! I recently made and enjoyed a great meal of honey mustard chicken with apples, thanks to this FoodNetwork.com recipe. It sounds a bit weird, but I PROMISE it was so tasty, and the healthier version tastes just as good!

Recipe

Ingredients
• 8 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (2 to 2 1/2 pounds) – I used skinless/boneless chicken breasts
• Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
• 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
• 1 large onion, cut into large chunks
• 2 cooking apples (such as Cortland), cut into chunks – I used green/Granny Smith apples which have a bit more nutrients (s.a. Potassium)
• 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
• 2 to 3 tablespoons honey mustard
• 1 1/2 teaspoons unsalted butter, softened
• 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
• 1 to 2 tablespoons roughly chopped fresh parsley

NOTE: The Best thing about these minor healthier adjustments, is you can still follow the directions, as is! Just note that when it states to cook the chicken “skin side up” or down, just cook the chicken breast side up, or down, based on the directions. Also, my apples did come out more on the mushy side – just being honest – so be sure not to overcook them if you don’t like the apple chutney texture! Both me and hubby didn’t mind that though, since the flavor was still very good!

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the olive oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Working in batches if necessary, add the chicken, skin-side down, and cook until golden, about 6 minutes. Flip and cook 2 to 3 more minutes, then transfer to a plate. Pour off all but 2 tablespoons of the drippings.

Add the onion and apples to the skillet and season with salt and pepper. Cook until slightly softened, about 4 minutes. Mix the broth with the mustard, then add to the skillet and bring to a boil. Arrange the chicken, skin-side up, in the skillet. Transfer to the oven and roast until the chicken is cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes.

Mix the butter and flour to form a paste. Use a slotted spoon to transfer the chicken, apples and onion to plates. Bring the pan juices to a simmer, whisk in about half of the butter-flour mixture and boil to thicken, 2 minutes. Continue to cook, adding more of the butter-flour mixture as needed to make a slightly thick gravy. Season with salt and pepper. Pour over the chicken and sprinkle with parsley.

Who has seen “Spirit of the Marathon” and are you going to see Part II?

What is your fave “run-spiration” or fave recipe this week?

8 thoughts on “Friday “Run-spiration” and a Recipe!

  1. AH! I have been dying to see spirit of the marathon as well!! I’m doing my first one in December, and have heard nothing but great things about this movie!! I must hop on amazon and make this happen!!

Leave a Reply

