My Top 5 Healthy Alternatives…when you’re on-the-go!

Howdy folks!! Welp, it’s another Monday and if you’re anything like me, you seem to always be in a rush… rushing to get ready for your morning workout, rushing to fix breakfast and get dressed for work, etc. Yes, nothing like the start of the week to get you moving, and moving QUICKLY!

I kid, I kid. πŸ˜‰ Fortunately, I’m within walking distance from work, so running late for that is not too much of a problem. HOWEVER, with being in grad school, working full-time, carving out daily time for prayer & bible study, doing my best to maintain a healthy and somewhat active lifestyle and happy marriage, I do have quite a few busy days. My hats off to those who do all of this with kids to care for too! In light of the average person’s busy lifestyle, I came up with my own list of healthy alternatives for…

* The person who wants to start eating healthier but doesn’t know where to start
* The person who wants a “cheat” day, but doesn’t really want to squander all her/his progress
* The person who has No Time to prep healthier meals
* The person who is too lazy to prep even healthier meals πŸ˜‰
* The person who’s just curious of what my quick “go-to” meals may include, since it helps keep me at a slim/healthy weight

Let’s be honest… achieving or maintaining a healthy & happy weight (for your height) is 80% diet and about 20% exercise. So, we really ARE what we eat!

#1 The Breakfast Sanwich Healthy Alternative!
Yes, for some, it is sooo tempting to stop by your nearby Mickey D’s, or even Subway (if you’re fancy and attempting to be a bit healthier), however, I found it’s so much easier to make your own breakfast sandwich at home (where you can control what’s included in it)! I bring you the EGG WHITE SANDWICH…

.0000EggWhiteSandwich

It’s super simple to make and much healthier when you use whole wheat sandwich thins, scramble your own egg whites, and if you add cheese, use a thin slice of swiss cheese or your favorite low-fat cheese slice! Or just try this recipe (**for the bacon addition, use turkey bacon or vegan bacon, or nix the bacon and add avocado instead!)

#2 My Potato Chips Healthy Alternative
Anyone who follows my blog, or just knows me, knows that I’m a HUGE fan of salty kettle-cooked potato chips! πŸ˜‰ But like any other “bad carbs,” too much of it, does not make a healthy me. So, kale chips are my FAVE and easy “go-to” alternative. I do realize that they now sell Kale Chips at Whole Foods and other stores, however, my motto is “why spend all the extra cash when they’re so easy (and cheap) to make yourself?” πŸ™‚

.0000KaleChips

And do not let the look of these “chips” fool you – they taste almost just like Lay’s Potato Chips, but much healthier (i.e. No Bad Carbs). So, you can eat as much as you want!

#3 My Pizza Healthy Alternative
This, I actually tried last night, so I can vouch that it’s easy and quicker than going to your local pizza place or even ordering pizza in! Try buying a healthy frozen pizza and adding your own healthier meat topping (if you’d like). I personally love the Kashi brand Fire Roasted Veggie thin crust pizza. To that, I added slices of chicken/apple sausage that I had sauteed for a few minutes, before adding it to the pizza! **Please Note: You must be careful with buying any frozen pizza, because they are typically high in sodium. So, if you have to watch your sodium intake, this alternative may not be the right one for you!

.0000PizzaAlternative

#4 My Ice Cream Healthy Alternative
Whenever, I have an ice cream craving, it’s always best (for me) to go to my greek yogurt concotions!

.000IceCreamAlternative!!

For me, ice cream is just not ice cream without some form of chocolate added to it, so this mostly guilt-free recipe works for me! πŸ™‚

#5 My Juice Healthy Alternative
Last, but certainly not least, we all def. can stand an alternative for juice – yes juice! I know what some may be thinking… apple or orange juice is healthy. What’s wrong with that? It DOES have fruit. Well, have you checked the amount of sugar included in the “healthy juices” found in grocery stores lately?? Astronomical! Even my beloved Naked Green Machine juice sadly has loads of sugar, unfortunately. So much so, I had to eventually cut down on my intake and try Fruit-Infused Water instead!

.0000JuiceAlternative

Yes, it takes some adjusting to drinking something with just a “hint of sweetness” when or if you’re used to drinking store bought juices, but it’s so much more hydrating, healthier and very simple to make. All you need is a container that seals, water and fresh fruit – my fave combos are orange and lemon slices or lemon and lime slices! You add the fruit slices, then add water, seal the top and let it sit in the fridge overnight or for a couple of hours. Then, it’s ready to drink!

What are your fave go-to meals when you want to be healthy in a hurry?

Fave guilty pleasure?

12 thoughts on “My Top 5 Healthy Alternatives…when you’re on-the-go!

  1. Great tips! My favorite quick meal is quick to warm up, but not quick to make: breakfast burritos with eggs, potatoes, red bell peppers, and cheese! It’s not the healthiest, but I love knowing every ingredient I used and that beats any Micky D’s or other fast food breakfast burrito!

    • Thanks Sharisse! That breakfast burrito sounds tasty! Agreed making it on your own beats fast food any day! Plus, no worries on the extra calories – you’re eating for you plus two! πŸ˜‰ Hope all is going well with the pregnancy!

  2. These are such great ideas!! i especially love the kale chips- i would have never thought of that, but they sound really yummy! i have to admit i fall into all those categories from time to time, i’m working on changing that (especially when its just me being lazy). awesome post!!

    • Thanks Charlotte! And a lot of these ideas actually stemmed from me having a “lazy day” myself. Hey, it’s the effort that counts, right? πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Leetra! Yep, you won’t regret it! One trick to make it even simpler is to use pre-washed bagged kale, tossed with olive oil, with enough sea salt to taste, when making the kale chips! πŸ˜‰ Very good and yes, much cleaner!

  3. These are some good ideas!

    I have tried doing kale chips soooo many times but they keep ending up burned or soggy 😦 I’ll just have to keep eating kale in my salads, I suppose!

    • Don’t give up Erin! πŸ™‚ If you really like crispy, slightly salty snacks, then it’s soo worth it! It helps me to check on the kale chips every 5 min or so, to shake the pan to see if they’re crispy enough. That way they don’t burn, or you don’t take them out too early when they’re still limp.

  4. Great tips Koryn! I love fruit-infused water, it does the trick for sure. I like to bake up a lot of baked potato and sweet potato fries to snack on through the week when I get a potato chip craving. I need to start making kale chips!

    • Ah, sweet potatoes fries – I would DEF. add that to the list. In fact, I actually had some last night. Lol. It’s a great healthier alternative. Thanks Mere!!

Leave a Reply

