A Special…and Unorthodox WIAW

Yes, Happy May 1st folks!! I’m sure I’m not the only person who remembers that song… er, or I hope. All jokes aside, the first of the month is always extra special to me because it marks me & the hubby’s marriage anniversary – 5 months today! SO PSYCHED!!

YAY!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Today is a pretty unorthodox “What I Ate Wednesday Tuesday” also. Why, you ask? Today marks the second day in a row where I skipped breakfast! I know, I know… Who am I these days?? All for good reason though, and I made sure to get my nutrients the rest of the day. Yesterday, I actually had to get up super early for a special appointment that I will share more about later. **And no, I’m not pregnant yet guys!** Had to throw that in there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s jump into my special and unorthodox WIAW #9!!!

As you know, breakfast was a no-go, but I did enjoy my new fave – French Vanilla capuccino…. mmmmm!

00_chai tea latte

And you can bet that lunch took place a little early…

LUNCH, 11:30 PM

.01Sandwich

.01Soup

I then discovered that it was one of my co-worker’s birthday and so, she offered everyone these decadent and DELICIOUS-looking cupcakes! So, of course I started thinking up every excuse in the book as to why I deserved to should indulge in one – i.e. “I didn’t have breakfast… gotta make up the calories somehow!” or “One little cupcake wouldn’t hurt.” And THEN, I realized I had this…

.01Yogurt

Saved…by blueberry greek yogurt folks! It totally hit the sweet spot! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also had some whole grain crackers and a few kettle chips throughout the day, of course. All in all, a great day thanks to being prepared with some healthy alternative snacks! I know what you may be thinking – but Koryn, where are your veggies??

Well, thanks to a slightly modified sesame chicken and broccoli dinner recipe from Beaute J’adore – I had a ton of them! Her version includes broccoli over brown rice… yum!

.01Beaute

And in my version, I nixed the rice and instead included a bunch of mixed veggies (red peppers, carrots, baby corn, green beans, broccoli, etc)! It’s hard to tell but I promise those veggies are packed in there. Oh and please excuse the poor quality of my camera phone. Cheers!!

.01Dinner!!
Do you ever skip meals?

What snack do you turn to instead, when you’re having an unhealthy craving?

6 thoughts on “A Special…and Unorthodox WIAW

  1. that french vanilla cappuccino sounds soo good right now. i think that’s the type of thing i reach for when i really want a cookie or a cupcake… some coffee with a little sweetness flavor is usually just the ticket to satisfy that sweet craving.

  2. Yup, that works for me too! Either flavored coffee, or swiss hot chocolate (with no sugar added).. the trick is to add a tiny bit of french vanilla creamer instead. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Great job avoiding the cupcakes, it was always so hard for me to do that in a corporate environment. It felt like there were sweets around at all times! If I’m craving something, I’ll reach for a piece of Dove Dark Chocolate. It usually does the trick!

  4. I so agree – I’m going to see if we can get more fruit & veggie trays at the next office event/gathering! Lol. And yes, a piece of dove dark chocolate is a great alternative too!

Leave a Reply

